2017 CFCC Athletic Banquet

2017 CFCC Athletic Banquet

Wilmington, NC – Cape Fear Community College hosted its fourteenth Annual Sea Devil Athletic Banquet on Wednesday, April 19th in Windell ​Daniels Hall, located on the top floor of the Union Station building. The men's basketball, men's golf, men's soccer, women's basketball, women's soccer, women's volleyball and the cheerleading teams were all honored at the event. 

Academics remains a top priority at CFCC, and a number of athletes were honored for academic excellence.  This fall 44 student-athletes earned a 3.0 GPA or higher.  We also had the distinct honor to reward one of our student athletes with a distinction never earned before by a Sea Devil athlete.  Each year the NSCAA selects 11 members to their scholar All-American team.  Raime Cooper from the Women's Soccer team was awarded this top honor.  

Cape Fear Community College athletics also finished another successful season on the court/field of play with 2 Region 10 Regular Season Championships, 2 Region 10 Tournament Runner-ups, 1 Region 10 Tournament Championship, 1 District Championship, 2 Region 10 Coach of the Year awards and 21 student athletes were named to the 2016-17 Region 10 All Region Team.

All Region Awards included:
Men's Basketball
Alonzo Tyson – 1st Team All Region
Jacque Brown – 1st Team All Region
Trae Bryant – 1st Team All Region

Women's Basketball
Destiny Campbell – 1st Team All Region / All American – 3rd Team
TaKwana Bland – 1st Team All Region
Coach Lori Drake – Region 10 Coach of the year

Men's Golf
Andrew Cheek - 1st Team All Region
Stephen Abrams - 1st Team All Region

Men's Soccer
Cristian Calderon – Honorable Mention All Region
McCartney Barrier – Honorable Mention All Region

Women's Soccer
Sierra Raynor– 1st Team All Region
Alyssa Coustenis – 1st Team All Region
Jenna Pecorini – 1st Team All Region
Celine Jacobi Barham – 1st Team All Region
Alley Ethridge – 2nd Team All Region
Raime Cooper – 2nd Team All Region
Briley Eason – 2nd Team All Region
Sydney Parker – Honorable Mention All Region
Coach Ryan Deppa – Region 10 Coach of the year

Women's Volleyball
Tressa Amico – 1st Team All Region
Cali Watson – 1st Team All Region
Chelsea Bailey – 1st Team All Region
Ali Jenkins – 2nd Team All Region

Team Awards included:
Men's Basketball
Coaches Award – Alonzo Tyson
Freshman of the Year – Trevor Willis
Most Valuable Player – Jacque Brown

Coaches Award – Anthony Floyd
Freshman of the Year – Lily Lee
Most Valuable Player – Brinkley Munoz

Women's Basketball
Coaches Award – Nikia Wallace
Freshman of the Year – Taylor Foulks
Most Valuable Player – TaKwana Bland

Men's Golf
Coaches Award – Chance Yeatts
Most Improved – Andrew Cheek
Most Valuable Player – Stephen Abrams

Men's Soccer
Coaches Award – T. J. Anttila
Freshman of the Year – Carlos Ochoa
Most Valuable Player – McCartney Barrier

Women's Soccer
Coaches Award – Janessa Annis
Freshman of the Year – Sierra Raynor
Most Valuable Player – Raime Cooper

Coaches Award – Faryn Salazar
Freshman of the Year – Ali Jenkins
Most Valuable Player – Chelsea Bailey

Click Here to view a photo gallery of the evening.