NJCAA and Region 10

National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA)


The purpose of this corporation shall be to promote and foster junior college athletics on intersectional and national levels so that results will be consistent with the total educational program of its members.


It is the philosophy of the NJCAA to promote participation in intercollegiate athletics of the male and female students within and among its member institutions in concert with each institution's educational mission.  The NJCAA firmly believes that intercollegiate athletics fosters and promotes participation, character development, sportsmanship, leadership and academic excellence.


The idea for the NJCAA was conceived in 1937 at Fresno, California. A handful of junior college representatives met to organize an association that would promote and supervise a national program of junior college sports and activities consistent with the educational objectives of junior colleges.

The constitution presented at the charter meeting in Fresno on May 14, 1938, was accepted and the National Junior College Athletic Association became a functioning organization.

Colleges represented at the charter meeting were Bakersfield, Chaffey, Compton, Fullerton, Glendale, Los Angeles, Pasadena, Riverside, Sacramento, San Bernardino, San Mateo, Santa Monica, and Visalia.

In 1949, the NJCAA was reorganized by dividing the nation into sixteen regions.  The officers of the association were the president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, public relations director, and the sixteen regional vice presidents.  The NJCAA Bulletin was authorized and published as the official organ of the Association.  Among other official acts, policies for conducting regional and national events were written, the constitution was revised, the organization was incorporated as a non-profit corporation, and the first NJCAA Handbook was published.

Today, the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) is the governing body of two-year college athletics, offering athletic and academic opportunities to college students.  It is the second largest national intercollegiate athletic organization in the United States with over 500 member schools in 42 states.  Each year approximately 60,000 student-athletes compete in one of 28 different sports and the organization sponsors 48 national championship events and eight football bowl games.

Cape Fear Community College is a member of the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA)-Div I/Div II, competing in Region 10, a high level of competition.  College athletics at Cape Fear Community College include men's and women's basketball, volleyball, golf, and men's and women's soccer.  Students participating in intercollegiate athletics must meet NJCAA eligibility requirements and standards.  Individuals participating in college athletics must be currently enrolled and be in good standing.

The National office of the NJCAA is in Colorado Springs, Colorado. 

To learn more about the NJCAA click here.

Region X

The purpose of Region X is to promote the education and development of community/junior college students through intercollegiate competition.  All institutions share the common commitment to high standards and the principle that competitive activities are a vital part of education.

Member institutions are recognized on their individual merits; however, the benefits of Region X and the NJCAA are invaluable to said institutions.

Region X members include two-year institutions from West Virginia, Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina.  Membership shall be recognized when said institutions pay their NJCAA and Region 10 annual dues and remain in good standing within the organization.

To learn more about Region X click here.